to the top of the page
  Home  »  Events »  

Finland, Then and Now

October 16, 2021

Sibelius Symphony No. 2 and more! Explore the music of some of Finland's most important composers past and present, as well as Finzi's Eclogue for solo piano and strings featuring pianist John Clodfelter.  

Tickets can be purchased here, or at the Event Center box office to avoid convenience fees.

For more information on our guest artist and the concert, you can view the insert here.

Program Information:

Into the Heart of Light (2011)..................Einojuhani Rautavaara (1928-2016)

Eclogue, op. 10..............................................Gerald Finzi (1901-1956)
                          John Clodfelter, piano


Symphony No. 2 in D Major, op. 43................Jean Sibelius (1865-1957)
  1. Allegretto – Poco allegro – Tranquillo, ma poco a poco ravvivando il tempo all'allegro – Poco largamente – Tempo I – Poco allegro 
  2. Tempo andante, ma rubato – Poco allegro – Molto largamente – Andante sostenuto – Andante con moto ed energico – Allegro – Poco largamente – Molto largamente – Andante sostenuto – Andante con moto ed energico – Andante – Pesante 
  3. Vivacissimo – Lento e soave – Tempo primo – Lento e soave – (attacca)
  4. Finale: Allegro moderato – Moderato assai – Meno moderato e poco a poco ravvivando il tempo – Tempo I – Largamente e pesante – Poco largamente – Molto largamente 

Program Notes:

Einojuhani Rautavaara is considered to be one of the foremost Finnish composers after Jean Sibelius. The piece we will perform tonight for this concert is Into the Heart of Light, a work of beautiful luminosity. The Finnish news site Keskipohjanmaa says the work, "creates the illusion of being underwater in the darkness, looking upwards towards a distantly shining light.” 

Gerald Finzi is not Finnish, but British and primarily known as a composer of choral music. His piece Eclogue for strings and piano solo is really an uncompleted part of what he envisioned as a larger work. It is based on an archaic form of poetry meant to represent a conversation between shepherds.   

Sibelius began composing his second symphony in 1901, shortly after the successful premiere of his tone poem Finlandia, and completed it in 1902. He said of the work, "My second symphony is a confession of the soul."  Finnish conductor, composer and teacher Robert Kajanus wrote of the finale's conclusion that "...[it] develops toward a triumphant conclusion intended to rouse in the listener a picture of lighter and confident prospects for the future."